top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNyansapo Wisdom

We Asked, They Answered; Municipal Responses

Ottawa Municipal and School Board Trustee Candidates' Questionnaire Responses


Nyansapo sent two questionnaires out on October 3rd and 4th, 2018 to hear what Municipal and trustee candidates had to say about issues that affect Ottawa's African Caribbean Black Canadian (ACBC) Communities. To inform your voting, we have added the following answers of several candidates who took the time to thoughtfully respond.


 

QUESTIONS for MUNICIPAL CANDIDATES

1. People from diverse backgrounds bring different knowledge and traditions to the municipality and this can help make services more relevant for everyone. How do you plan to ​improve civic participation and​ involve Black community members in the decision making process in our city?

2. How will you support equitable hiring practices in the city to increase recruitment, promotion and retention of diverse staff?

3. Given the province’s recent decision to halt Bill 175, the Safer Ontario Act, focused on restructuring policing in Ontario, what will you do at the municipal level to ensure that police are held accountable for their actions in dealing with the Black community?

4. On March 28, 2018 a resolution to create a Women’s Bureau and Council Liaison at City Hall, put forward by the Councillor for Southgate-Gloucester Ward, Diane Deans was adopted. The resolution is also in keeping with standards set by the United Nations resolution calling for women to make up a minimum of 30 percent of the workforce and governance.

a) Will you also ensure that a Race and Gender Based Analysis be integrated into all policies and actions throughout the departments and agencies governed by City Council? This includes that race and gender diversity becomes a mandatory requirement on supervisory boards, management boards, advisory and other committees of Council, including at the highest management levels.

 

MUNICIPAL CANDIDATE RESPONSES (in no particular order)


Jide Afolabi/ City Council/ Ward 17- Capital

1) As a black candidate, should I be elected I would see my role as dual - ward-specific responsibilities and ACBC responsibilities. I intend to

hold periodic forums to engage residents with regard to both responsibilities, ensuring that our voices are meaningfully heard with regard to city decisions.

2) I think service is enhanced when any grouping of civil servants reflect the community being served, bringing different perspectives and

experiences into the workplace. Thus, a city staff reflective of Ottawa’s diversity would be a positive development. Increasingly, youth

from diverse backgrounds are attending post-secondary institutions and acquiring the knowledge and skills required for entry-level positions

within our city’s bureaucracy. I would seek the establishment of an internship program for our city’s youth, aimed at drawing from a pool of

candidates reflective of our city’s diversity, and with clear options for “bridging” into full time positions. I believe one sub-set of such a program could be my idea for the care and enhancement of our urban

forest – the Ottawa Tree Corps.

3) I think the best role in the short term is advocacy, as well as ensuring that established processes are meaningfully followed. In

addition, as a lawyer, I can work with community partners to ensure sound strategies are put in place to address individual instances requiring police accountability. In the medium term, it is important to

work to ensure the Safer Ontario Act is reinstated.

4a) Yes.

4b) I am a fan of political "report cards". So, reporting on attendance records, voting records, and so on. I would like to see a diversity report card put in place, listing all boards and committees, and their

appointed positions, and undertaking a breakdown for diversity and for

gender.


Hamid Alakozai/ Candidate for Office of Mayor

Answer to Question 1:

I strongly stands for the rights of black community members. As the Mayor of Ottawa I will encourage and support multiculturalism and give a chance for everybody for better job opportunities and aqua access for engagement in more cultural programs and activities in Ottawa.

Answer to Question # 2:

As Mayor of Ottawa I try to the best of my ability to improve diversity and give more chance to different community members especially for the black community members. Black community members they deserve to be señor officers and their kids deserve to have better education. I promise when I elected I will bring those changes by action in Ottawa and also lobby the black people current situation with other level of the governments for better improvement.

Answer to Question # 3 :

I will open my office to the black community seniors for their concern and comments. I will consult with the Chief of the police about the black community members concerns and me and the Chief of police we must work together as a team work to find the best solution to satisfies the black community members. My aim is to serve my people based on trust and professionalism. I have a great desire to serve the residents of Ottawa because their satisfaction is my satisfaction.

Answer to Question # 4 :

  1. As Ottawa's Mayor I will make it my priority to support a women’s bureau, women are encouraged to participate in any kind of activities and I’m fully supportive of women to participate in politics, economic development, business, education in all aspect of life. We have great respect for all gangers including all race and diversity and we believe in gander liberty. This is our democracy freedom and pursuit of happiness and we are extremely proud of it.

  2. I will sit policy in place that guarantee and build all mechanism to protect the rights of women, all genders and all race diversity that they get access based on equal opportunity for everyone. Ottawa is our home together we will make our home more beautiful and more suitable for everyone.

Louise Soyez/ City Council/ Ward 1- Orleans

Pour les électeurs du Quartier 1 :

Merci de votre message. C’est avec regret que je vous informe que je ne ferai pas campagne au poste de conseillère municipale pour le quartier 1 d’Orléans lors des élections municipales de la ville d’Ottawa qui auront lieu le 22 octobre 2018. Toutefois, mon nom demeure sur le bulletin de vote. En vertu de l’article 36 de laLoi de 1996 sur les élections municipales, il m’est impossible de retirer ma candidature. Dans les circonstances, par respect envers la fonction municipale et les électeurs, je ne mènerai ou ne participerai à aucunes activités politiques. Je ne peux que vous encourager à exercer votre droit de vote le 22 octobre prochain pour élire un(e) candidat(e) qui saura défendre vos intérêts de façon transparente, avec intégrité et une vision tournée vers l’avenir. Je souhaite bonne chance à tous et toutes les candidats (es).

Louise Soyez/ City Council/ Ward 1- Orleans

For voters in Ward 1

Thank you for your e-mail. I must regretfully inform you that I will not campaign as a municipal councillor for Ward 1 in Orleans for the October 22, 2018 City of Ottawa municipal election. However, my name will remain on the ballot. Under section 36 of theMunicipal Elections Act,1996, it is impossible to withdraw my candidacy. Under these circumstances, out of respect for the municipal public service and voters, I will refrain from or will not take part in any political activities. On October 22, I encourage everyone to exercise your right to vote for the candidate of your choice, who will advance your interests in a transparent and honest manner and a forward-looking vision. I wish best of luck to all the candidates.


Daniel Stringer/City Council/ Ward 15- Kitchissippi

1) As founder and chief organizer of DreamKeepers, which celebrates MLK Day for more that 15 years now at Ottawa City Hall and for eight years also on Parliament Hill, I have developed strong and deep relations with my brothers and sisters in the Black Community of Ottawa and Canada. My door will always be open to the Black community. As a recipient of the President's Award from Black History Ottawa last year I can assure you of my constant support for the issues racism, systematic exclusion and administrative marginalization, which are abhorrent to me.

2) I would move a motion at Council proposing an incentive program for middle and upper managers that grades performance in this and other important hiring criteria and that rewords financially those who meet and exceed the criteria.

3) Request to sit on the Police Services Board and more importantly work closely with my friend Ketcia Peters and cpac to insure accountability by our police officers.

4) a) Yes

b) Put motion before Council to this effect within my first month on Council


Catherine McKenney/ City Council/Ward 14- Somerset

1. With regard to civic participation among members of the Black community, I believe the City has a responsibility to do more to engage all people of colour through a better balanced approach to appointments and hiring. We also need to make sure our public consultation process reaches into communities where we have historically received less input.

2. Equitable hiring practices are essential in a city as large and diverse as Ottawa. As Councillors, it is our responsibility to task the city management team with encouraging hiring diversity in all departments.

3. a) I was the co-mover of the motion to create Women's Bureau and I strongly support the idea of gender analysis when developing City programs and policies. Clearly, this approach needs to extend to race as well as gender and I support the development of such an analysis.

b) I will support a motion to have the City's Chief Administrative Officer report annually on diversity issues, including program funding, program analysis, and diversity hirings.


Guy Desroches/ City council/ Ward 1- Orleans

1. Consultation at the city exists and is there for everyone to express their opinion.

2. Equitable hiring practice should exist and an appeal board should be there to evaluate why a certain person did not get the position.

3. I would push for more policing by new special constables and speed control cameras; especially in school zones, which I feel, is a great necessity. Moreover, in my view, this would not be cash grab but a safety improvement. We do not need to wait for a tragedy to happen to protect innocent lives. Furthermore, an education program is necessary to inform officers about diversity and should be held accountable for there action by a special review board.

4. Having a Women’s Bureau would help create equality for women in the labor force, particularly through educating potential employers, conducting research, policy analysis, promoting change, and increasing public awareness. Empowering women needs to happen, especially by informing women that they have all the qualities, credentials, talent, experience and knowledge to apply to the higher position.


Philip Bloedow/ City Council/ Ward 4- Kanata North

I am 49 years old. I have lived near Ottawa all of my life.

I have been interested in politics for the past THIRTY ONE years. I am running for Ottawa City Council for Kanata North Ward for MANY reasons. I want to initiate MASSIVE fundraising for the victims of the recent tornadoes.

A man in the United States is offering TEN brand new trailer homes and TEN brand new RVs to help provide shelter to some of those now homeless as a result of the tornadoes.I am wondering if YOU and people you know can help me get my name ALL over Ottawa?

Ottawa residents will have to know my name in order to save $ 6000 per YEAR on MONTHLY bills starting with HYDRO and GROCERIES.Can you PLEASE help me get my name all over Ottawa as soon as possible?

A little more about me:my Dad is 88 years old but he was a professor at Ottawa University for many years:

http://www.ratemyprofessors.com/ShowRatings.jsp?tid=34164 My Mother was 71 years old when she died 13 years ago after ten years of cancer and two weeks of kidney failure. She was a scientist in her younger years.

I have three brothers and no sisters.I am also wondering if YOU or someone you know can help me acquire a meeting with the owner of the Ottawa Senators hockey club Mr. Eugene Melnyk? I have several pieces of GOOD news for Mr. Melnyk.


Jeff Leiper/ City Council/Ward 15- Kitchissippi

1) Through the course of the next term, I will continue to build on the innovative consultation processes that I began over the last four years. I have found that by hiring facilitators in major ward decision-making processes who are dedicated to doing outreach in communities that don’t often participate in traditional process improves the quality of feedback that I get. Having childcare available at my in-person consultations and offering a choice of times to participate has also improved the quality of those consultations. I have also been fortunate to develop good relationships with many leaders in the Black community that sees me working informally and frequently on issues that are of particular interest and importance to them.

2)The City has equity and diversity hiring guidelines initiatives, but I have seen multiple stakeholders assert in this election that it would be useful to have internships focused on equity groups. I agree.

3)This is a challenging question to answer since there is no formal mechanism for city councillors (or City Council) to direct the operations of the Ottawa Police Service. Their accountability is to the Province through the Provincially-appointed Police Services Board. However, I can commit to using my voice independently to raise awareness of police accountability issues vis-à-vis the Black community.

4 a) was a vocal supporter of Councillor Deans’ motion, seconded by Councillor McKenney to establish a Women’s Bureau, and I will support that in the next term of Council. Multiple stakeholders have suggested that its mandate could be broadened to ensure a wider diversity lens, which I would support. Critically, I will also support a level of resources necessary to ensure that the bureau can be effective in carrying out its mandate, and to be able to report to Council annually.

4 b)While I am unsure of the legal basis upon which we can ensure diversity in our boards and committees, I do consider that we should be prioritizing that. I was pleased to be on the nominating committee that led to the appointment of Farhia Ahmed, Rev. Dr. Anthony Bailey and Ed Buller to Crime Prevention Ottawa. I believe strongly that when strong candidates are encouraged to stand for appointments, they will rise to the top.


Emilie Coyle/ City Council/ Ward - 8 - College

1)I agree with the statement that valuable contributions are made by people with different knowledge and traditions. Looking for and implementing targeted hiring practices at the city level to ensure that we are hiring a diverse workforce will be an important step. I also believe that promotions are a valuable tool, so that we can have more varied experiences at senior levels of staff. Having been a manager of a diverse staff in the past, it has been important for me to remind white people that they often hire people who look like them, without being aware of their actions. Challenging the unconscious bias of the hiring staff will be critical in ensuring we have fair and equitable hiring practices. I will also actively support and promote the good work that is being done by existing community organizations who are engaged with creating greater civic participation for the Black community. Lastly, being deliberate about who we recruit to sit on key committees as city hall will be a first step in including the Black community in decision making.

2) The support will be vocal and sustained. I will also demonstrate it in my own office and will advocate for this at the HR department of the city. This is an important step and one that must consistently be reinforced.

3) First and foremost, we must acknowledge that racial bias is real and it exists within the ranks of the Ottawa police. There are many ways to hold the Ottawa police accountable for their actions in dealing with the Black community. I would like to work with the police services board to:

  1. Make sure that the police are representative of the people they serve.

  2. Incorporate community feedback into the the way that policies and practices are made (in a real way- not as a token).

  3. Invest in rigorous and ongoing training that explicitly targets unconscious bias.

  4. Allow the community access to data on any violence used on Black people.

  5. Work with community organizations to create real relationships between the police and the communities that are over-policed.

4) A) I am 100% committed to using a Race and Gender Based Analysis throughout City Hall and will create a mechanism by which I can be made aware when my own biases are preventing me from using this important lens. Although I am a woman, I am a white woman, and there are certain lived realities that I do not experience. B) Conduct an internal audit of committees, staff, supervisory boards, management boards, etc, that provides the city with a report card of how well it is doing with the gender and race representation. If we fall short, we must do better. I will fight to ensure that people realize that the idea that including more diversity is not a compromise but rather an advantage.


Mireille Brownhill/City Council/ Ward 1 - Quartier Orléans

Thank you for taking the time to prepare this questionnaire for candidates. Representation and inclusion are important topics. In my role as Councillor, it will be my responsibility to amplify the voices of those who are not being heard.

It is my pleasure to provide my answers to your questions below.

1) How do you plan to improve civic participation and involve Black community members in the decision making process in our city?

I plan to collaborate with community leaders and local organisations to reach out to Black community members to ensure that they are invited to share their concerns and opinions. I believe it is important to make the effort to include voices of all community members in these conversations. For example, I commend Making Voices Count for all their work in making voting accessible to everyone.

2) How will you support equitable hiring practices in the city to increase recruitment, promotion and retention of diverse staff?

The city has an Equity and Inclusion Handbook that is currently underutilized. I plan to champion its use in developing more equitable hiring processes. I think the creation of a Women's Bureau will also help support these objectives.

However, it would also be beneficial, if not essential, for city staff to attend training sessions on getting rid of unconscious bias. Even if we have wonderfully equitable policies, they can't be successful if the person attempting to follow them has ingrained biases against racialized persons.

3) What will you do at the municipal level to ensure that police are held accountable for their actions in dealing with the Black community?

I was disheartened to learn that the new provincial government would halt Bill 175. At the community consultation with the OPS board for their upcoming Strategic Plan, community members spoke of building stronger relationships between police officers and residents, as well as increasing training for officers on topics like mental health, racialized communities, and unconscious bias. I will work to implement those policies at the municipal level with the goal of increasing accountability.

As Councillor I intend to speak loudly and often against inappropriate, targeted, violent, and/or racist behaviour and actions by members of the Ottawa Police Service. I will make sure to centre the voices of those who are affected in conversations on this issue. The OPS has made some efforts in the past to work on their biases, but they have been insufficient. Clearly there is still much work to be done.

4a) Will you also ensure that a Race and Gender Based Analysis be integrated in all policies and actions throughout the departments and agencies governed by City Council?

The push for the creation of a Women's Bureau has given us the opportunity to create a Race and Gender Lens for our City. Though gender and race are included in the 11 profiles in the Equity and Inclusion Lens, they are obviously not adequately addressed by Council and city staff. I will advocate for the creation of such a lens as well as accountability measures to back it up.

4b) What actions will you take to guarantee a built in mechanism to ensure there is reporting accountability of progress on an annual basis?

Every policy enacted by Council that aims to improve an issue of this scope should have some reporting in place in order to make Council and city staff accountable. When we develop the Women's Bureau or the Race and Gender Lens, we must include guidelines for its implementation as well as markers to verify that it is being used. Annual reporting is necessary to keep Council and staff accountable for this work.


Craig MacAulay/ Office of Mayor Candidate

1) Improving civic participation, involving the Black community in decision-making:

"We need a council that is working for the entire community, not just for the 1%. We need a plan for the future of our children, not higher short-term profits for the developers and other insiders.

A good start would be opening up decisions at City Hall by implementing a ward council system and making sure that component neighbourhood community associations are legitimate, transparent and accountable.

I’d fight for ranked-choice voting, a small simple change that would make Ottawa’s elections fair and friendly. With fairer elections and limits on the power of big money and incumbency at City Hall we’d have better and more diverse politicians making better decisions."

2) Diversity in City staff:

"It is essential that we have a plan in place to ensure that an equity lens is applied to the City’s services and programs, and that the lived experiences of all citizens are captured in the way our city is run.

I totally support the goals and suggestions of CAWI: in order to have City staff and managers representative of Ottawa’s population we need increased hiring and advancement of people from equity-seeking groups including Indigenous people, women, Blacks and other racialized communities, the LGBTQ+ community, people with disabilities and newcomers."

3) Police accountability:

"A big step forward would be a new chief, a new chair at the Ottawa Police Services Board and a new strategy of community-based policing supported by councilors focused on addressing the root causes of crime. I’d also like to see more police on bikes!

Staffing shortages on the front line are a serious concern, especially when morale is low and nearly 11 per cent of the entire force is either doing modified versions of their jobs or entirely different jobs because of medical restrictions.

Before increasing the police budget the new council should first look at using existing resources more efficiently and dealing with the issues of low officer morale, lack of confidence in the leadership, and lack of trust and cooperation in some neighbourhoods. The rank and file have many suggestions as to how they could work more effectively to combat crime and protect the innocent."

4a) Race and gender-based analysis:

“It must be a mandatory requirement.”

4b) Reporting accountability on race and gender-based issues:

“This would be up to the new Women’s Bureau and all of the councilors who recognize the problem and are prepared to tackle it (hopefully a majority after the Oct. 22 vote).

Perhaps the Black community might consider voting for Mr. Hamid Alakozai for mayor? He would make a good champion for all those groups who have historically been excluded from City council. Or Mr. Doucet? Or even me if you think Mr. Doucet has no chance of defeating the duplicitous mayor?

Maybe the race for mayor lacks in drama, but there are some very tight races in a few wards. For example, the Black community would be very well served if Emilie Coyle wins in College ward and Theresa Kavanagh becomes the councillor for Bay ward. In River ward it looks like Fabien Kalala Cimankinda has a good chance of becoming the first Black councilor if voter turnout is high.

And don’t forget the school board elections! Your choice is important so do your homework and find out who is the best choice for our schools. For example, consider voting for Rob Campbell in OCDSB zone 5 and Wendy Hough in zone 4.”


Doug Large/City Council/Ward 23- Kanata South

Good afternoon;

I have read through your questionnaire. It deals with issues that I will be better able to address once elected. However, you have an advocate in me; there is no room for intolerance or inequity anywhere in our government or society.

Bernard Couchman/ Candidate for Office of Mayor

Hi check out my platform www.bernardcouchman.ca you will see where I stand.

Have a great day!!!


Rick Bédard/ City Council/ Ward 1 - Orleans

My name is Josh, and I'm contacting you on behalf of Rick Bédard's campaign in order to submit the answers to the Nyansapo questionnaire. Should you have any additional questions, please feel free to reach out anytime!

1.

Canada was founded on immigration and continues to draw its strength from embracing its cultural diversity. In Ward 1 - Orléans, it is our cultural diversity which makes our community so resilient. When elected, I pledge to make active efforts to consult and engage visible minorities in my decision-making process. I welcome the opportunity to meet and consult with community organizations such as the ACBC, in order to get a more complete understanding of how policies affect all Orléans residents.

2.

On an individual level, I would first like to acknowledge various factors that marginalize individuals, such as race and sexual orientation, and how they can also intersect. I support equitable hiring practices and will work diligently to ensure potential hires are considered under an equal employment opportunity policy.

3.

Bill 175, also known as the Safer Ontario Act, is the first update to the Police Services Act in over 25 years. Higher levels of accountability among police officers are necessary in order to address the issue of police conduct, which may disproportionately affect the Black community. As Councillor, I pledge to use my platform to bring this concern to the attention of Ottawa Police Services and other Council members in order to address the issue on a municipal level.

4.

a) I support initiatives aimed at increasing women’s participation in politics. When elected, I will work hard to ensure that Ottawa City Council consults with experts on how it can best incorporate and measure the efficacy of Race and Gender Based Analyses into the city's policy development process.

b) Reporting accountability is necessary in order to ensure the effectiveness of any initiative. I plan to consult widely in order to develop measurable strategies for closing the many wage gaps and ensuring equitable access to opportunity.

Best regards, Josh


Mark Scharfe/ City Council/ Osgoode Ward - 20

As a candidate for municipal government, my main issues regarding rural property owners are drainage, roads, and garbage. Obviously, folks have to be hired to preform these tasks.....some are terribly back breaking.....the folks loading our garbage will often load in excess of 14 tonnes is a shift!......That being said, the Charter of Rights and Freedoms Canada covers each one of us....I will tell you this......I will certainly respect everyone in our community, and respect the Charter.....hope this helps......but i cannot commit to some of the questions that you have asked because I am only a Candidate at this time.


Ahmed Bouragba/ Office of Mayor Candidate

1.Educating the people about the importance of the inclusion and diversity. Consider hiring black people, fight racism and discrimination.

2. By respecting the criteria and the requirements for the posting without racial profiling.

3. Some Police officers have problems not only with black people but unfortunately with many other minorities. We can’t held them accountable if the justice system is broken, we need to fix our justice system first, then it will be easy for us to succeed. One of the ideas is to stop paying for lawyers to protect them when they commit crimes or engage in discrimination.

4. a) Absolutely yes.

b) Ensuring full transparency and creating a wall in which we will post all wrongdoings.

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page